first-fridays-may-09-021

I went to dinner with some friends a few weeks ago and somehow the conversation turned to New Orleans. The destruction and devastation of Hurricane Katrina still seems shocking, but it seems even more alarming that four years later the city is still just hanging on some places. Then we started talking about all the great things about New Orleans—Bourbon Street, the music, the restaurants with the mind blowing Cajun food. Who could ever let a place like New Orleans go? That must be why some people never left, we agreed, even in the face of a massive Hurricane… New Orleans is their home.

Then someone brought it all to a screeching halt.

He said, “That’s what I love about places like that. I bet if a storm came and flattened Phoenix, no one would stay. No one would care enough. No one feels connected to this place.”

And then I unleashed my wrath…

Because I feel connected to this place.

I love the feeling of getting out of a freezing cold office, walking out to my car and feeling the 115 degree heat infuse my body with warmth (…even if I can’t touch the seat belt for fear of third degree burns). I love the red velvet cupcakes at Copper Star, L.J.’s Pizza, the smell of creosote, and Changing Hands Bookstore. I LOVE two hour road trips undertaken solely for the smell of pine trees and snow, Saturday mornings at the Farmer’s Market, and sipping wine while waiting in line for Pizzeria Bianco. I love that I am a part of something here. I am one of many forming the identity of the Valley, bringing about its renaissance, knowing that its greatness is just around the corner. And I know how it feels to peek out my window on an early morning return flight and appreciate the tiny, bright blue swimming pools embedded in the desert landscape because they remind me I’m coming home.

Phoenix is an amazing place to be for many reasons, but mostly because of the people. I know this city is becoming better and better every day because of the spirit of entrepreneurship that is growing and flourishing all over town. I’m a local fiend because people all over this city are pouring their heart and soul into some amazing Mom and Pop’s. Supporting businesses like these means supporting my neighbors. That’s why I’m loyal to these places and that’s why I’m fiercely LOCAL.

You should be fiercely local too. Here’s why:

  • Small businesses make our cities interesting, quirky, fun, and unique. They bring life and personality and a sense of community. They are memorable and supporting them helps your neighbors thrive.
  • Going local is often CHEAPER (and who doesn’t appreciate that nowadays). Don’t believe me? It is extremely expensive for corporate grocers to import produce from many different places. Even Wal-Mart learned it’s cheaper to buy food grown locally!
  • Local businesses provide better service. When you shop locally you are funding someone’s dream and livelihood, and they rely on your repeat business.
  • According to Local First AZ, for every $100 spent in local businesses, roughly $42 stays in Arizona. National Chains leave us with only $13 for every $100 you give them.
  • If everyone shifted just 10 percent of their shopping to local businesses, we would see economic growth beyond our wildest dreams! Check out this research.
  • Local businesses are subject to greater accountability. Unethical business practices often go unnoticed in the corporate world, and by the time they are revealed the damage has already been done (ie. Recent banking scandals, Enron, Wal-Mart). When a local business acts unlawfully or unethically, they must answer to the public or risk going under. It is easier to hold a local business accountable for unethical practices because the effects of their business are not as expansive as huge corporations.

Small businesses are the heart and soul of our city. There are many great reasons why you should shop local. Help me compile a list of “100 reasons why you should be a Local Fiend” by posting your ideas in the comments section of this post.